Deep Teaching

State-funded · All-through · Barnet

St Mary's and St John's CofE School

Academy converter · Ages 3 to 18 · Mixed · 1,651 pupils

Closes in 21 days Application deadline 31 October 2026

At a glance

Type
Academy converter (state-funded)
Phase
All-through
Ages
3 to 18
Gender
Mixed
Religious character
Church of England
Pupils
1,651 census January 2026
Capacity
1,780
Admissions policy
Non-selective
Sixth form
Yes
Nursery classes
Yes
Head
Co Headteacher Alice Thomas & Hannah Mason
Trust
WREN ACADEMIES TRUST
Address
Bennett House, Sunningfields Road, London, NW4 4QR
Borough
Barnet
Telephone
02082020026
DfE reference (URN)
151504

Source: Department for Education, Get Information About Schools · daily extract as at 2026-10-07 · last checked 9 October 2026

Report an error

Key dates for 2027 entry

Reception (4+)

  1. Application deadlineFriday 15 January 2027Open

    National closing date for Reception applications: Friday 15 January 2027. Apply through your home borough's coordinated scheme, not directly to the school.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

  2. National offer dayFriday 16 April 2027Upcoming

    Primary National Offer Day: Friday 16 April 2027. Offers are released by your home borough.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

  3. Accept your offerFriday 30 April 2027Open

    Deadline to accept your primary offer: Friday 30 April 2027.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

Year 7 (11+)

  1. Application deadlineSaturday 31 October 2026Closes in 21 days

    National closing date for Year 7 applications: Saturday 31 October 2026. Apply through your home borough's coordinated scheme (eAdmissions), not directly to the school.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

  2. National offer dayMonday 1 March 2027Upcoming

    Secondary National Offer Day: Monday 1 March 2027. Offers are released by your home borough.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

  3. Accept your offerDate not statedDate not stated

    Accept the offer by the deadline given in your offer letter; your home borough sets the date.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

Add to calendar (.ics)

Get a reminder before St Mary's and St John's CofE School's deadlines

One email 14, 7 and 1 day before each dated deadline we hold. No account needed.

Send me

Reminder emails are not being sent yet: email delivery is still being set up. We will save your request and send nothing until it is switched on and you have confirmed your address.

A status ("Closes in 12 days") is shown only for a closing date we have checked, worked out from today's date, 10 October 2026. Other dates are printed as the school published them, with its own wording beside them. Dates given only as "early January" are shown as approximate and never counted down. Always confirm with the school or council.

Report an error

Open days and tours

  1. Open evening · Reception, NurseryWednesday 11 November 2026

    Reception, Nursery Source

Dates as published on the school's own page, read 10 Oct 2026. Schools add and change dates at short notice and most ask you to book: confirm with the school. All open days in London

Report an error

Admissions

You apply through the council where you live, not to the school, naming up to six schools in order on one form. Every applicant on time hears on the same national offer day. Schools with a religious character often ask for a supplementary information form as well, returned to the school by the same deadline.

164 first-preference applications and 541 applications naming it at any preference for 81 places offered (September 2026 entry, DfE)

EntryPlaces offeredFirst preferencesAll preferences
September 2026 Secondary81164541
September 2026 Primary5549149

These are counts of applications and offers on national offer day. They are not a chance of getting in: places are allocated by the school's published admissions criteria, such as siblings, distance or faith.

Source: Department for Education, Secondary and primary school applications and offers · entry years up to 2026/27 · last checked 9 October 2026

Barnet: Reception offers, September 2026 entry

Across the borough, 86.1% of applicants were offered their first preference and 98% were offered one of their preferences (3,649 applications). These are borough-wide figures, not a forecast for any school or child.

Source: Department for Education, Secondary and primary schools applications and offers 2026 · entry years 2014/15 to 2026/27 (release published 2026-06-18) · last checked 9 October 2026

Barnet: Year 7 offers, September 2026 entry

Across the borough, 72.7% of applicants were offered their first preference and 93.2% were offered one of their preferences (3,998 applications). These are borough-wide figures, not a forecast for any school or child.

Source: Department for Education, Secondary and primary schools applications and offers 2026 · entry years 2014/15 to 2026/27 (release published 2026-06-18) · last checked 9 October 2026

Report an error

Inspection

Ofsted graded inspection, 28 February 2024: overall effectiveness at that inspection was Good

(inspection of the predecessor school, St Mary's and St John's CofE School)

Ofsted stopped giving state schools a single overall grade in September 2024. This grade dates from the inspection shown; it is not a current rating.

Quality of education
Good
Behaviour and attitudes
Good
Personal development
Good
Leadership and management
Good
Early years provision
Good
Sixth-form provision
Good

Read the report

Source: Ofsted, Management information - state-funded schools - latest inspections as at 31 August 2026 · latest inspections as at 2026-08-31 · last checked 9 October 2026

Report an error

Pupils and context

Eligible for free school meals
28% January 2026

Source: Department for Education, Compare school and college performance · 2024/25 · last checked 9 October 2026 · school census

Attendance and staffing

Pupils per teacher
17.7 2025/26

Source: Department for Education, Pupil to teacher ratios - school level · 2025/26 (school workforce census, November 2025) · last checked 9 October 2026

Report an error

Nearby schools

Schools covering the same ages within about a mile, by straight-line distance (not walking or travel time).

State-funded · Primary · Ages 3 to 11 · Mixed · Barnet

251 pupils · KS2 expected standard 80% (2024/25)

Applications: open (15 Jan 2027)

Independent · Sixth form · Ages 15 to 19 · Mixed · Barnet

192 pupils · A level average B+ (2024/25)

State-funded · Primary · Ages 3 to 11 · Mixed · Barnet

413 pupils · KS2 expected standard 68% (2024/25)

Applications: open (15 Jan 2027)

State-funded · Primary · Ages 2 to 11 · Mixed · Barnet

231 pupils

Applications: open (15 Jan 2027)

Independent · Prep · Ages 2 to 11 · Mixed · Barnet

104 pupils · £5,507 to £8,309 a term (2026-27)

Independent · Senior · Ages 11 to 16 · Girls · Barnet

137 pupils

Report an error

Compare with similar schools

Side-by-side comparisons with the nearest schools of the same type. Sourced facts only; no winner is declared.

Report an error

Was this useful?

Add a comment (optional)

Anonymous: we store your answer, this page and your comment, nothing else. Please do not include names or contact details.

CompareShare