Deep Teaching

State-funded · Primary · Barking and Dagenham

Dorothy Barley Infants' School

Community school · Ages 3 to 7 · Mixed · 223 pupils

Open Application deadline 15 January 2027

At a glance

Type
Community school (state-funded)
Phase
Primary
Ages
3 to 7
Gender
Mixed
Pupils
223 census January 2026
Capacity
360
Nursery classes
Yes
Headteacher
Mrs Lauren Pearce
Address
Davington Road, Dagenham, RM8 2LL
Telephone
02082704655
DfE reference (URN)
101188

Source: Department for Education, Get Information About Schools · daily extract as at 2026-10-07 · last checked 9 October 2026

Report an error

Key dates for 2027 entry

Reception (4+)

  1. Application deadlineFriday 15 January 2027Open

    National closing date for Reception applications: Friday 15 January 2027. Apply through your home borough's coordinated scheme, not directly to the school.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

  2. National offer dayFriday 16 April 2027Upcoming

    Primary National Offer Day: Friday 16 April 2027. Offers are released by your home borough.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

  3. Accept your offerDate not statedDate not stated

    Accept the offer by the deadline given in your offer letter; your home borough sets the date.

    Source: GOV.UK · checked 9 Oct 2026

Add to calendar (.ics)

Get a reminder before Dorothy Barley Infants' School's deadlines

One email 14, 7 and 1 day before each dated deadline we hold. No account needed.

Send me

Reminder emails are not being sent yet: email delivery is still being set up. We will save your request and send nothing until it is switched on and you have confirmed your address.

A status ("Closes in 12 days") is shown only for a closing date we have checked, worked out from today's date, 10 October 2026. Other dates are printed as the school published them, with its own wording beside them. Dates given only as "early January" are shown as approximate and never counted down. Always confirm with the school or council.

Report an error

Admissions

You apply through the council where you live, not to the school, naming up to six schools in order on one form. Every applicant on time hears on the same national offer day.

43 first-preference applications and 120 applications naming it at any preference for 45 places offered (September 2026 entry, DfE)

EntryPlaces offeredFirst preferencesAll preferences
September 20264543120
September 20254646133
September 20246062152
September 20235353149

These are counts of applications and offers on national offer day. They are not a chance of getting in: places are allocated by the school's published admissions criteria, such as siblings, distance or faith.

Source: Department for Education, Secondary and primary school applications and offers · entry years up to 2026/27 · last checked 9 October 2026

Barking and Dagenham: Reception offers, September 2026 entry

Across the borough, 95.3% of applicants were offered their first preference and 99.3% were offered one of their preferences (2,970 applications). These are borough-wide figures, not a forecast for any school or child.

Source: Department for Education, Secondary and primary schools applications and offers 2026 · entry years 2014/15 to 2026/27 (release published 2026-06-18) · last checked 9 October 2026

Report an error

Inspection

Ofsted ungraded inspection, 25 June 2025: Standards maintained

An ungraded inspection confirms or questions the previous grade; it does not set a new one.

Read the report

Last overall grade: Good, given on 6 July 2016

Historic. This is the last time Ofsted gave the school a single overall grade. Overall grades were abolished for state schools in September 2024.

Read the report

Source: Ofsted, Management information - state-funded schools - latest inspections as at 31 August 2026 · latest inspections as at 2026-08-31 · last checked 9 October 2026

Report an error

Pupils and context

Eligible for free school meals
18.6% January 2026
English as an additional language
62.9%
Receiving SEN support
12.1%
With an Education, Health and Care Plan
2.1%
Girls / boys
48% / 52%

Source: Department for Education, Compare school and college performance · 2024/25 · last checked 9 October 2026 · school census 2024/25

Attendance and staffing

Overall absence
4.7% 2024/25
Persistently absent (missed 10% or more)
10%
Pupils per teacher
18.1 2025/26

Source: Department for Education, Absence rates by school level · 2024/25 · last checked 9 October 2026

Places

Places
360
Pupils on roll
202

Source: Department for Education, Capacity - school / Sixth form capacity - school · 2024/25 · last checked 9 October 2026 · position at 1 May, 2024/25

Report an error

Nearby schools

Schools covering the same ages within about a mile, by straight-line distance (not walking or travel time).

State-funded · Primary · Ages 3 to 11 · Mixed · Barking and Dagenham

1,135 pupils · KS2 expected standard 64% (2024/25)

Applications: open (15 Jan 2027)

State-funded · Primary · Ages 3 to 11 · Mixed · Barking and Dagenham

892 pupils · KS2 expected standard 59% (2024/25)

Applications: open (15 Jan 2027)

State-funded · Primary · Ages 3 to 11 · Mixed · Barking and Dagenham

230 pupils · KS2 expected standard 83% (2024/25)

Applications: open (15 Jan 2027)

State-funded · Primary · Ages 7 to 11 · Mixed · Barking and Dagenham

590 pupils · KS2 expected standard 78% (2024/25)

State-funded · Primary · Ages 3 to 11 · Mixed · Barking and Dagenham

458 pupils · KS2 expected standard 53% (2024/25)

Applications: open (15 Jan 2027)

State-funded · All-through · Ages 4 to 18 · Mixed · Barking and Dagenham

2,568 pupils · Attainment 8 51.2 (2024/25)

Applications: closes in 21 days (31 Oct 2026)

Report an error

Compare with similar schools

Side-by-side comparisons with the nearest schools of the same type. Sourced facts only; no winner is declared.

Report an error

Was this useful?

Add a comment (optional)

Anonymous: we store your answer, this page and your comment, nothing else. Please do not include names or contact details.

CompareShare